Day 30

Day 30: Are You Happy With Yourself?

I thought about what I could write to back up my answer, but I believe all my posts leading up to this are evident of my new found happiness.

IMG_1364 (2)

I started my morning taking pictures at the graffiti art wall on Baylor St. in Austin. In the wake of the crop-top backlash in response to O magazine’s fashion advice, I decided to end my 30 day self-esteem challenge with a new challenge. What happened when I took to the streets of ATX wearing a crop-top for the first time?

sitting 2 sitting

It’s a beautiful sunny and naturally hot Sunday as I step out of the truck to take some pictures. I can see there is a rather large crowd at the graffiti art wall. I thought about running back to the truck, making an excuse that there were simply too many people to get good shots, but NO! Every step I have taken this year is to raise my confidence, build up my self-esteem, and ultimately live a life loving my body.

crop top 1

crop top 2

Every inch of this massive outdoor wall speaks loudly with its vibrant colors and imaginative depictions: some political, some about love or music, and others were messages to the next wandering soul. I tried very hard not to look at peoples reactions and focus on myself, but it was difficult not to stare. I think it was part of the process. And, guess what happened?

crop top happy

Nothing.

crop top happy 2crop top happy 3

I mean it…nothing. Sure, some people glanced quickly while passing by, but I didn’t draw a crowd out. Everyone was busy doing their thing, taking amazing pictures of their own, a memory of this spectacular place. See, I know there are times when I will face the ugly looks and stare-downs by nasty people, but today was not one of those days, and I am happy for that reason.

IMG_1371 (2)

Today, I enjoyed taking my pictures with my fabulous, cute belly out and proud. Today was a good day. Today I am happy. I cannot speak for tomorrow, but I am hopeful, always the eternal optimist, the dreamer.

love is

Hooded Textured Knit Pullover Shirt by Ashley Stewart

The Chuck Taylor All Star high top by Converse

Blue Jean Shorts by Melrose

Aviator Sunglasses by Betsey Johnson

XOXO Chica Rosita

5 thoughts on “Day 30

Leave a Reply

