30 Day Self-Esteem Challenge: Day 29

Day 29: When You Don’t Feel Good About Yourself, What Do You Do To Change That, If Anything?

The woman I was before would have done absolutely nothing to change my mood, except maybe resort to comfort food. I’ve said it before, I love eating. Food is a source of comfort for me, but not so much these days. I find comfort with my partner, my friends, exercising, blogging, and the list goes on.

I am allowed to feel whatever it is I am feeling at that moment whether its bitter, angry, sad, etc. I don’t have to pretend that I am okay. But, I also try very hard to see what I can do to change that. What’s making me unhappy? Why don’t I feel good? Is there something I can do to change that or do I have to just let the feeling sink in and process it?

Let’s say I have a bad day at work, who doesn’t? I’ve been made to feel small and insignificant by someone and it ruins my whole day. When I come home, sometimes I curl up and watch Netflix or I go workout to release all the negative energy surging through me. That’s what it feels like to me, a surge of negative energy pulsating through my veins, and I just have to rid myself of the toxin.

There is a song by one of my favorite artists, Shakira, called “No”. My favorite verse is as follows:

No se puede vivir con tanto veneno
No se puede dedicar el alma
A acumular intentos
Pesa mas la rabia que el cemento

Essentially it means that one cannot live with so much poison in their soul. One cannot dedicate their life accumulating these ill intents and rage is heavier than cement. The meaning behind it in Spanish is much more powerful, and may have gotten lost in the translation. But, the essence of the song is to let go of pain and bitterness. It’s become a sort of mantra for me in times of great strife.

11127653_475603639261922_1456135008529119375_o

XOXO Chica Rosita

Leave a Reply

