30 Day Self-Esteem Challenge: Day 20

Day 20: If You Finish This  Challenge And Still Feel That Your Confidence Is Low, Would You Be Willing To Do It Again? Why Or Why Not? 

This challenge has allowed me to be thoughtful about my journey toward body acceptance, which at its core is a quest toward a high level of self-esteem. In this quest I have taken on many ventures like entering a plus-size modeling competition, modeling in a boudoir photo-shoot, and starting a blog about plus-size lifestyle. I even heard about this challenge from another plus-size blogger Myra Ray from The Plus Size Movement.

These are the stepping stones on the path toward embracing my body and ultimately raising my self-esteem. Though I have my days like many other plus-size women when it comes to body image, I feel every step is taking me in the right direction. The life I envision is one where I am continuously challenging beauty standards, raising awareness about positive body image, and encouraging other women in their journeys.

If at the end of this challenge I have retracted to my former self, my first option would not be to take this challenge again. Here are some reasons why:

  1. Take a Step Back-I’d want to take a step back from the challenge to contemplate on my experience. Perhaps I don’t even want to think about it and would rather refocus my energy in other positive areas of my life before diving back in. It’s good to take a breather and recharge.
  2. Try Something Else-As I said previously, there are many ways to work on your self-esteem. I found that one of the areas I was lacking in my self-esteem was my body confidence. I was able to hone in on this particular area by trying different ways to gain a positive body image. This may lead me to reading more books on positive body image, joining an online support group, or seeking therapy.

I don’t doubt that I can succumb to temptation and let old habits creep in. But, I feel that I do have weapons in my arsenal to defend myself against the bully inside me.

10400816_10153240757913707_4899634521733762573_n

XOXO Chica Rosita

Leave a Reply

