30 Day Self-Esteem Challenge Day 16 & 17

Day 16: The Last Thing You Did That Made You Smile

The last thing I did that made me smile was creating this photo collage of my childhood. Fond memories of my childhood are very few and far between, but in these moments I was truly a happy child.

IMG_20150615_0005

I’d like to describe it as nostalgia, but I don’t feel it encompasses the emotions that surged through me when creating this. I was happy for that child, happy that she experienced some joy, some delight, and some love as a child. So I smiled because even in the surmountable obstacles, she smiled.

Day 17: Another Thing You Like About Yourself

At the moment, I am an optimist. That shouldn’t be confused with blissful ignorance. I am aware that the world is ugly, but I still believe in human decency. It is when you lose hope that you become part of the “they” or “them” that everyone talks about. I don’t want to be a “they”. I am me, and I know who that is now, or at least, I am growing fondly of her.

I like that I have this new view of the world and myself. It’s not a new-age way of thinking, and I read no self-help books, which by they way there is nothing wrong with, but it’s just a resurgence. It is almost like a phoenix rising from the ashes, a cliche perhaps, but I’d like to see the beauty and empowerment in that experience rather than cynicism. I’m tired of the darkness, anger, hurt, and I experience those still. I have to let myself feel these, but I have to let myself feel love and happiness too.

Sheila L - Set 1 WM-2

XOXO Chica Rosita

Leave a Reply

