Plus Size Blogger Promise Challenge

I decided to take this challenge posted by The Plus Size Movement blog. Essentially, you make 5 promises for the summer. Some of these can include fashion risks like wearing a two-piece or promising to challenge negative thoughts about yourself. Anything positive.

Here are my 5 summer promises:

1. Wear a two-piece swimsuit on the beach. I did a swimsuit photo-shoot in April for submission into Curvy Connect Magazine‘s May swimsuit edition. It was the first time I wore a swimsuit and the experience was very empowering for me. As a kid, I always wore big t-shirts and shorts and that carried into my adulthood. I had such low self-esteem that I didn’t think I was worthy of wearing a swimsuit. Swimsuits were for skinny girls or pretty girls. I challenged myself to wear a one-piece and the results were amazing. My photo was selected into the online magazine and the out pour of support was uplifting. But, wearing a swimsuit in a closed photo-set is different than being out publicly on the  beach, proudly strutting your stuff. So, that’s exactly what I plan on doing. I plan on wearing my fabulous new GabiFresh swim sexy two-piece from swimsuitsforall11215131_467408590081427_5477315647884072287_n

2. Challenge negative self-talk with positive affirmations. I am sort of doing this already, but I read a message from Kelsey Miller that was sent via email from The Curvy Con. She challenged herself daily by repeating positive affirmations to herself out loud. Unlike Kelsey, I usually say these in my head and it’s not all the time. But, I intend to make it a habit to challenge a negative thought about myself with a positive affirmation immediately. If I say to myself, “You’re thighs are too lumpy!” I will tell myself, “I love my thighs, they are a part of who I am, and who I am is beautiful.”

 IMG_1827

3. Bare my arms. I love the bare arms movement for the curvy girl. Like many body conscious women, I will from time to time cover my arms up with cardigans, blazers, and sweaters. Lately, I have been wearing sleeveless tops and dresses. I will make it a point with this central Texas heat to bare my arms proudly.

swim 3

4. Empower other women. I have made great strides in my personal journey toward body acceptance. I will continue to work on myself, but I will also encourage other women. I will offer words of encouragement, understanding, and sometimes I’ll just be there, present. I will be conscious that my opinion is my own and will only offer it when asked of me. I will proceed with empathy and compassion. My blog and modeling started off as personal endeavors, and they have turned into a great platform to show other women that plus-size is beautiful.

IMG_18475. Challenge my standards of beauty. The #effyourbeautystandards movement spearheaded by Tess Holliday is a daily source of encouragement for me. I see all these beautiful women posting selfies and positive affirmations with the hashtag. But, while I affirm that my standards of beauty are open and accepting of all forms of beauty, I will constantly challenge my preconceived notions of beauty. It took me a long time to accept my beauty and challenge society’s standards of beauty. Now, I must come into an awareness that I have biases and will challenge them. For so long, I kept hearing the constant voice of criticism from my childhood, my mother. It’s still the voice in my head that I challenge daily. I did not grow up isolated from hate or discrimination, so I am aware that my views are inherently influenced by my experiences. It is because of these experiences that I am who I am today.

IMG_1082

XOXO Chica Rosita

6 thoughts on “Plus Size Blogger Promise Challenge

    1. Thank you Laura McFabulous and you are for sure fabulous! Love your blog! Yes, I got the inspiration form Tess Holliday. I read an interview in which she said the same thing. She felt she was ruining beautiful dresses and tops by hiding it behind a cardigan. Don’t get me wrong, I love cute cardigans and blazers, but I don’t need them for every outfit and certainly not to cover up my arms. They are a part of me. I am so glad you enjoyed this post. I find these daily challenges uplifting. And,yes!! I am so excited that you’re in on it too!!

      Like

      1. Let’s do this!! I put leggings on for the gym tonight- not normal because I worry you can see my ‘chub run’. Not any more! I don’t care! I’m there to wobble and sweat and if people don’t like it then they can find another gym!! Hope you had a great day!! Xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

